How to Disable Browser History in Google Chrome

We all have that moment when we’re browsing the internet and think, “I really don’t want anyone to be able to see what I’ve been looking at.

Whether it’s your boss or a significant other, nobody wants their browser history available for viewing.

Thankfully, Google Chrome has an option in settings so you can disable your browser history from being saved on your computer.

Prevent Google Chrome Storing Your Recent Visited Websites

It can be disabled so that it won’t appear, or items can be manually deleted from your history.

There are total 5 ways to get rid of your browser history in Google Chrome.

The disadvantage of disabling history is that if you want to look at one website again, you’ll need to disable browsing history again to do so.

If you decide to delete each item individually, this takes much more time and effort on your part.

So, for convenience sake, it might make the most sense just leaving it enabled but not saving any website information when finished browsing.

Before disabling your browsing history, make sure you delete all the previous browsing history.

1. Use Google Chrome’s Incognito Mode for Private Browsing

If you want to browse without any history showing up, a good option is an incognito mode in Google Chrome.

This is a great way to keep your internet history hidden from anyone using your computer.

In incognito mode, there are no cookies or temporary files stored on your PC.

So even if someone were to access the history of your Google Chrome browser, it would all be blank.

To begin browsing privately with incognito mode:

1. Click on the three-lined menu icon and choose “New Incognito Window”.

2. Once opened, everything you do will be private and won’t appear on your regular browsing record.

Note: When you open an incognito window, many extensions will be disabled for security reasons.

2. Delete Your Chrome History

1. Launch Google Chrome and click on the gear icon in the top-right corner of the browser.

2. On the drop-down menu that pops up, go to Options.

3. Scroll down and click on “Under the Hood.” This is where your browsing history options are located.

4. The first option you’ll see is labelled “Browsing History.”

5. Click on this option. If you don’t see it right away, scroll down a bit until you do.

There’s also an option here to clear your cache and cookies.) Here’s how to do that;

1. On the Browsing History page, click on Clear browsing data at the bottom of your screen under Settings.

2. A pop-up window will appear.

3. Select to clear your entire browsing history (browsing data, download history, etc.) and then click on Clear browsing data again.

4. This will remove all the information that has been stored in your browser up until now.

5. You can also delete individual items by clicking on “Manage Data” at the bottom of the Browsing History page.

3. Disable Through Chrome Settings

1 . Click the Customize and Control icon (the three dots) in the upper right-hand corner of the Chrome Browser.

2 . Click Settings from the drop-down menu.

3 . Scroll all the way down to Advanced and click on Privacy.

4 . Uncheck “Remember search and form history” and “Remember browsing history”.

5 . Now, close all open tabs and refresh your current page by hitting F5 or clicking View > Reload Page

4. Disable Google Search Activity

You can also disable your browsing history, by disabling it in your Google Account Settings;

1. Log into your Google Account.

2 . Click on the arrow to the right of “My Account” and select Personal Info & Privacy.

3 . On the next page, click on Activity Controls in the left section of the screen.

4 . Scroll down to Web & App Activity and uncheck ‘Include Chrome browsing history and activity from websites and apps that use this browser.’

5. Disable Location Tracking

You can also disable location tracking here by unchecking Location History, but this is recommended for long term use as it will prevent Google Maps from providing accurate results based on your location.

This may be helpful if you feel like someone else has access to your account or you want to erase all online traces of yourself, so if anyone asks where you were at a certain time, you’ll be able to tell them.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Q. Does Google Chrome store your history if you are using private browsing?

A . Yes, even if you are using the incognito mode because this is not true private browsing. The incognito mode in Google Chrome does not stop other people who have access to your computer from seeing your internet history because it is still stored on your computer.

Q. Can I delete my saved passwords for websites?

A. Yes, you can do this by going to Settings > Advanced and clicking on People. There is a “Saved Passwords” option in the menu that will allow you to delete them all at once or one-by-one.

Q. Can I delete my saved credit cards?

A . Yes, you can do this by going to Settings > Advanced and clicking on Autofill Credit Cards under Payment Methods. There is a trashcan icon next to the options for each card that you can click in order to remove it.

Conclusion

I hope this guide has been helpful to you and that you’ve found the complete way to avoid getting your browsing history saved in google chrome. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Comment