Do you suspect that you were muted on Instagram? How do you know it for sure? Social media is a fantastic platform to communicate. It lets us connect with people we don’t even know and share ideas with them.
However, what if you’re not getting the response you desire from someone? What if they have stopped responding to your posts altogether? Well, there’s a good chance that they may have muted you.
Table Of Content
- 1 How To Know if Someone Muted You on Instagram
- 1.1 1) You stop seeing their posts in your feed
- 1.2 2) You can’t send them direct messages
- 1.3 3) You can’t see their profile picture
- 1.4 4) You can’t see their posts in search results
- 1.5 5) You can’t comment on their posts
- 1.6 6) You can’t follow them back
- 1.7 7) You get an error message when clicking on their profile picture
- 1.8 8) Their username no longer appears in search results
- 1.9 9) Their bio disappears
- 1.10 10) The account stops following other accounts
- 2 Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
- 3 Conclusion:
How To Know if Someone Muted You on Instagram
1) You stop seeing their posts in your feed
One of the most obvious signs that someone has muted you on Instagram is if you stop seeing their posts in your feed. This could be for a number of reasons. Maybe they’ve stopped posting or maybe their posts just aren’t showing up in your feed anymore. If this is the case, it’s likely that they have muted you.
Secondly, if you go to their profile page and click on the “Following” tab, you may notice that they’re no longer following you. This is another sign that they have muted you.
2) You can’t send them direct messages
If you try to send a direct message to someone who has muted you, it will fail. You will get an error message that says “The user you are trying to contact is not following you.” This is because they have blocked your messages from being sent to them.
3) You can’t see their profile picture
If someone has muted you, you will not be able to see their profile picture. Their profile photo will be hidden and it will say “Muted.” Actually, you will only be able to see their profile picture if they’ve approved your follower request.
4) You can’t see their posts in search results
If you try to search for someone’s posts who has muted you, you won’t be able to find them. Their posts will not show up in the search results.
5) You can’t comment on their posts
If you try to leave a comment on one of someone’s posts who has muted you, your comment will not appear. The post will still say “Comments are currently closed.” This is because they have blocked your comments from being seen.
6) You can’t follow them back
If you try to follow someone who has muted you, your follow request will be blocked. It will say “The user you’re trying to follow is not following you.” This is because they have prevented you from following them again.
7) You get an error message when clicking on their profile picture
Normally, if someone has muted you and if you click on their profile picture, it should take you to their bio page where there’s a shortcut button for Instagram Direct. However, if they’ve blocked your follower requests, this button won’t work and it will give off an error message saying “You can’t send messages to people that don’t follow you…”
8) Their username no longer appears in search results
When you click on someone’s username, their posts should appear in the search results. However, if they’ve blocked your follower requests, this will no longer work and their username will not appear in the search results. This is yet another sign that they have muted you.
9) Their bio disappears
If someone has muted you, then there’s a good chance that their profile description and location might also disappear. The last thing to remain in place would be any social media usernames and hashtags used by the account owner.
However, this information may also get removed later on if their account stays inactive long enough or gets suspended for violating Instagram guidelines at some point in the future… It is important to keep in mind that when people block you on Instagram directly from their profile, your comments are no longer visible to them.
That means that if you were trolling or harassing someone on Instagram before they blocked you, there is a good chance that the person may have no idea of what you have been doing. However, just because they can’t see your comments doesn’t mean that the people who follow them won’t be able to see what you said.
10) The account stops following other accounts
If someone has muted you, it’s likely that any mutual friends with your username will also stop following them for some reason. This could be because they’ve unfollowed each other or maybe they were both blocking each other’s posts before one of them muted the other.
More Articles On Instagram:
- What Does “This story is no longer available” Means on Instagram?
- 10 Best Anonymous Instagram Story Viewer Apps
- View Private Instagram Profiles Without Following
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Q. Will the person know if I’ve muted them?
A. No, the person will not know that you’ve muted them.
Q. What should I do if someone has blocked me on Instagram?
A. The best thing to do is to stop harassing or trolling the person on social media and move on with your life. There’s no need to make things worse for yourself.
Q. What should I do if I’m being harassed or trolled by someone on Instagram?
A. If you’re being harassed or trolled by someone on Instagram, then you can report their profile to Instagram so that they can investigate what’s going on. You can also try blocking the person or deleting their comments.
Q. What should I do if no one is following me on Instagram?
A. If you’re being harassed or trolled, then things can get really difficult for you. In such a case, the best thing to do would likely be to report their profile so that they get banned from Instagram. You may also want to message Instagram about the problem and ask them to review your page so that they can put more people on it…
Another solution might be for you to follow more accounts so that your posts appear in the search results of other users…
Q. Will muting someone blocks their comments from my own profile?
A. No, when you mute someone, only THEIR comments will be blocked while your own comments (if any) will be left untouched.
Q. Will muting someone deletes their comments from my profile?
A. No, when you mute someone, only THEIR comments will be blocked while your own comments (if any) will be left untouched. Also note that if someone blocks you directly on Instagram, then the comments you made on their posts will also be deleted…
And once they block you, it won’t matter whether or not you mute them since all of your posts and messages to them will no longer be visible to either party involved in this situation.
At last, it’s important to remember that muting someone on Instagram should not be seen as a cowardly act. In fact, it may well come in handy when you’re dealing with trolls and other social media users who have been trolling or harassing you for quite some time now…